Skip to content

I wish I’d drunk more champagne *

22/11/2012

Eric Pickles is the Communities Secretary in the UK Government, a fatuous non-title for a serious politician. He has a large, wide-open face which probably gives a clue to his bonhomous nature; he seems a good-natured fellow and I rather doubt that he is a man who takes himself too seriously. I’m not aware that he has the reputation of being much of a drinker.

The Times, however, clearly thinks otherwise. It renders (page 11) his name today:

* The last words of John Maynard Keynes. Those of John Betjeman were, “I wish I’d had more sex”.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

